Getting back into the groove

I finally got to experience the phenomena known as Disney’s animated movie Frozen. I think I was one of the last people in America to see this very musical and happy little story. Normally, I’m one of the first out of the gate to see Disney movies. Growing up in central Florida, Disney is part of our birthright – we’re all born with mouse ears and goofy laughs. But for some reason, this movie was going to be a difficult one for me to swallow. Truth be told, the reason was simply the title – FROZEN.

image

I’m pretty sure I’m not alone in saying this but after this winter, the last thing I wanted to be reminded of us was just how cold, isolating and awful snow and winter is. I hate the cold. I can’t stand the winter weather. I despise snow – even the pretty flakes falling from the sky in their little dance is enough to make me want to crawl in a hole. I don’t like gloves, or coats or shoveling. I don’t like racing from warm space to warm space. I don’t like the treat of school being closed because of some named winter system (why do we name these things anyway – is it a way to focus all our hatred in one direction?).

Now if you’re one of those individuals that really enjoys the cold then maybe you don’t share my enthusiasm. I am willing to admit that you may be one of those individuals (sick as it may be to me) who enjoyed these past months. If so, hope you enjoyed it, but I’m glad to send it packing! I am thrilled that is it spring. I am thrilled for 60+ degree days. And I even love the little afternoon thundershowers that pop up here and now.

I think one of the reasons that I hate the cold so much is that it pushes me into a rut. Some folks call it seasonal-affect-disorder (or SAD) – I call it being Solar-powered. When it’s nonstop gloomy and cold, I find myself just kind of slipping into patterns and attitudes that are really hard to break out of. I’m grumpier. I want to sleep more. I just don’t want to do much more than what I have to (and even what I have to is a stretch). I get stuck and it becomes easier to make excuses to not do the very things that bring me life and keep me rut free.

I wonder if you have ever found yourself in the middle of a rut? A rut is stuckness – it’s an inability to really move and engage. It’s seeing where you want to be but not being able to get there. Ruts are dangerous. They suck the very life out of a person. They keep us from finding the sweet passion of life. Ruts are patterns where hopelessness can creep in and wear on your whole being.

For whatever the reason, this winter I’ve been full swing into a rut. I could come up with a bunch of reasons for it – including the weather. I’ve seen the effect my rut has had on me – physically, emotionally, and spiritually. Many might not be able to see the effect, but I can. I have felt the tiredness of rut-living, which is why I was on my John Deere first thing Monday as the weather permitted. It’s why I’ve started hitting the pavement again with a commitment to go rain or shine. It’s why I’ve broken out the flip-flops and said goodbye to wool socks.

You may laugh at my little rut-busters, but I tell you the last few days I’ve felt the groove come back. Groove living and rut living are totally different. Living in the groove is finding the sweet spot of life. It’s balance and boundaries and breathing all in one beautiful dance. It may still have some wheel spinning, but the groove actually keeps you moving.

I’m not naive enough to blame all my rut-like-behaviours on the winter weather, but I am smart enough to take advantage of the spring change of season. I’m going to jump into this warming of the land and my soul. I’m going to pursue with a new lease on life the moments that are before me. I’m going to relish the birds chirping – I’m going to enjoy the rain drops – who knows you may even find me preaching in those flip-flops I love so much.

As the weather changes, whether you are mourning winter’s passing or celebrating along with me, I pray that we all find time to take a look at the ruts and grooves that are around us. I pray that you’ll find your groove – that you’ll be filled with the joy of the changing season. I can’t think of a better way to bust out of the rut then to start preparing now for the biggest rut buster of them all – Easter. May the next few weeks, be a gift that God gives us all – as we look forward to celebrating the empty tomb, may we find His life filling ours.

Grace & Peace!

image

One thought on “Getting back into the groove

  1. I was also late to the Frozen party, and I don’t even have the weather to blame it on, still no snow in Florida! Abby’s continual harping on how amazing it was and how much we had to see it may have been part of my reluctance (read stubbornness). Having now enjoyed the movie, I admit the error of my ways and am in full thrall of the Disney movie-making machine again! To your more important point, stuck in the rut seems to be a theme around these parts too. My effort to escape and re-join the sweet spot of life started with new baby chicks. They are super entertaining and need daily attention and care, which gets me out of the house to the back of the yard, where I usually see one or two other chores that I can take care of while I am there. “Just one more thing before I sit down” is what I am going for right now. I hope your Easter is amazing, full of wonder and thankfulness for the gift we have received from our Heavenly Father!

Leave a comment